Medieval savagery

“This is medieval savagery, it bears no relation to honour whatsoever. I can’t stand fighting against these people. But I have to, because I have to protect my country.”

That struck me as such a strange thing to say, because as far as I’m concerned the whole idea of honour in war is medieval; it’s a beautiful and beguiling myth of chivalry and damozels and knights in shining armour who belong between the pages of Malory.  No one wears shining armour to fight in wars anymore (they never did). They wear secondhand camouflage scrounged from richer armies and whatever side they ‘re on they all look exactly the same.

I wonder how many of ‘these people’ fighting on the other side would repeat this quote, word for word.

My story  where the quote comes from, about the Donbas Battalion here

 

0 Responses to “Medieval savagery”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

previous posts

A novel about the Crimean Tatars' return to their homeland


