Everything has to be called something part II

I’ve written before about the problems with naming my next book. Names are incredibly important. Until the book has a title, sales departments and designers can’t get working on a cover. Until the cover is agreed, there can be no advertising or sales strategies. Personally, I don’t think I’ve ever bought a book on the strength of its title (although if it had the word ‘Kamchatka’ in it I’d be highly likely to pick it up and jealously flick through…) but I’ve certainly been persuaded by a cover, so I can understand why it’s so critical to get right.

I’ve never been able to shake the feeling though that It’s a Sweet Word, Kamchatka IS right for my next book. And to my relief, the publisher has finally agreed.

That’s the good news. The bad news is that, in the whole kerfuffle of whether to keep or change the title, the publishing date for It’s a Sweet Word, Kamchatka has been pushed back by a year.

I know that’s nothing in publishing terms. But at the moment, it feels like it’s going to be the longest year I’ve lived through since I got Little House in the Big Woods for my eighth birthday and had to wait till I was nine for Little House on the Prairie (I think my kind aunt relented and gave the book to me earlier – if only publishers were so kind…)

Still, amid the swings and roundabouts of the publishing world, at least I got to keep my title. And here’s a picture of that strange place Kamchatka to celebrate.

2 Responses to “Everything has to be called something part II”


  1. 1 hampshireflyer January 15, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    So what finally convinced them?

    Like

  2. 2 rambutanchik January 16, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    That’s a good question, hampshireflyer. I don’t actually know. I suspect the fact that no one could come up with anything else was fairly significant…

    There’s also an element of compromise – this title has been agreed so long as the accompanying strapline is more accessible or explanatory or straight-forwardly commercial. Don’t yet know what that strapline will be…

    Like


Leave a Reply

previous posts

A novel about the Crimean Tatars' return to their homeland


